Top 20 on SYTYCD

Tonight the top 20 dancers performed for the first time in couples. I must say, I think this is the best top 20 we’ve ever had on the show. I really enjoyed the whole episode, and all the varieties of dance.

Some highlights:

Pirouette of the night goes to Jess in his Broadway routine with Clarise. He was almost on his knees then as he spun he raised himself up. I’m so practicing that one in the studio tomorrow.

Ryan and Ricky’s lyrical hip hop was very intriguing. I think we’re going to see great things from Chris Scott’s choreography.

The next thought goes to Nick and Iveta. They had the dreaded quickstep. I knew it wouldn’t be a problem for Iveta, and I was scared for Nick, because I’ve been learning a quickstep routine for a performance coming up, and it is HARD! Intense footwork all while keeping a perfect frame on top is so daunting. But nick is a tapper! He nailed the footwork held his frame fine. He just needed to put his fingers together and their connection could have been a little closer in that closed position. But overall, I was very impressed with the both of them.

I’ve saved the best for last. Contemporary dancers Melanie and Marko danced a Travis Wall routine. It was about two statues that come alive at night and want to come closer to each other before morning comes again. I was in complete awe. The music was spectacular, and the dancing phenomenal. Neither dancer outshone the other, and each had amazing control of their bodies. This dance had my vote through and through. There are usually one or two routines a season that just take my breath away, and I wasn’t expecting one so early on. I hope there are many more to come this season!

Here they are (the dance starts at 1:38):

Let’s Dance!

Posted on June 16, 2011, in Dance news, Dance video. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

